The Suburban Vagabond

On a search for a better world, finding it in the most unlikely places

“Throwing the First Stone”

As everyone who can read this now knows, Usama (Osama) Bin Laden is dead – at the hands of US government operatives. Around the country, reports of rejoicing poured in…Our enemy is dead. Or is he? Sometimes I wish it could be that easy, but the way of Jesus never is. I didn’t, of course, know Usama personally, and I should probably be thankful for that…but let me tell you what I do know…

Jesus was given dozens of opportunities to deal out judgement, death, and retribution – he did not take one. Here are a few of his thoughts on justice, judgement, and condemnation:

  • ” You judge by human standards; I pass judgment on no one.” [John 8 ]
  • ““But I tell you who hear me: Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you.”
  • “You have heard that it was said, ‘Love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’ But I tell you: Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you” (Matthew 5)
  • To a women condemned to death for breaking “God’s law”, He says “I do not condemn you” [John 8 ]
  • The most prolific author of what we call the “New Testament” was Paul aka “Saul”, a former terrorist and murderer of entire families. In spite of his history, the Church forgave and accepted him.

According to the teachings of Jesus and his disciples, our enemies are not human. Our enemies are not terrorists…not flesh and blood. Paul the ex-terrorist said that “the last enemy to be defeated is death”. When that happens, when no one else has to die, I will rejoice. But not today…

2 comments on ““Throwing the First Stone”

  1. Andrea
    2011/05/03

    You’ve got smilies in your blog. :snicker: (I have no problem with you deleting this comment! Just thought you might want to know, if you have a way of disabling them, especially since I’m sure what you really meant was (John 8 )

  2. Dave
    2011/05/20

    I say amen brother. Could not have said it any better.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 2011/05/02 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , .

Shorter thoughts…

